California Hall of Fame

In 2017, the Office of Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and First Lady Anne Gust Brown, in partnership with the California Museum, inducted Warren Winiarski into the 11th class of the California Hall of Fame. Recognized for his global efforts to showcase and preserve the quality and history of California wine, Winiarski joined California Hall of Fame inductees who have made exemplary contributions to the spirit of California. Other California legends honored in 2017 include entertainer Lucille Ball; bioscientist Susan Desmond-Hellmann; artist and activist Mabel McKay; atmospheric chemist Mario J. Molina; quarterback Jim Plunkett; poet Gary Snyder; filmmaker Steven Spielberg; musician Michael Tilson Thomas and vintner Warren Winiarski. Each received the “Spirit of California” medals presented by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. and First Lady Anne Gust Brown at an official state ceremony held on Tuesday, December 5, 2017, at the California Museum.


Winiarski’s legacy spans from making exceptional wine to reinforcing the culture of wine as an American tradition. He is only the second California wine industry luminary to be honored with this “Spirit of California” medal; Robert Mondavi was inducted to the California Hall of Fame in 2006, its inaugural year.

Photo credit ​Jose Luis Villegas